SUNY Poly Claims First NEAC Women's Cross Country Championship

SUNY Poly Claims First NEAC Women's Cross Country Championship

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – SUNY Poly finished with 60 points to claim the 2018 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Women’s Cross Country Championship for the first title in program history at Saturday’s race hosted by Lancaster Bible.

Individual Results / Team Results

A pair of top-five finishes helped give SUNY Poly the edge with freshman Lauren Phetteplace (Cortland, N.Y.) leading the pack with a time of 24:10.6. As the individual winner and top first-year runner, Phetteplace was named NEAC Runner and Rookie of the Year after Saturday’s performance. Senior Jalize Mejia-Perez (Bronx, N.Y.) also earned NEAC All-Conference First Team honors with a fifth-place finish after posting a time of 25:10.4. Senior Kassidy Eng (Staten Island, N.Y.) and rookie Molly Burdick (Johnson City, N.Y.) placed 12th and 15th, respectively, to receive spots on complete the Wildcats representation on the All-Conference team. SUNY Poly Head Coach Bill Tylutki was recognized by his peers as the 2018 NEAC Coach of the Year.

Cazenovia College came in second with 85 points after two runners landed in the top ten. Sophomore Maddy Godfrey (Fort Edward, N.Y.) crossed the finish line at 25:02.8 to earn fourth place while junior Jamie Leone (Cicero, N.Y.) finished 10th with a time of 26:52.5.

Keuka College earned a third-place team finish with 100 points, while Penn College placed fourth with 117 points. SUNY Cobleskill finished the day in fifth place with 137 points.

NEAC All-Conference First, Second and Third Team selections were determined by the individual finish times at the championship race.  The top 21 runners receive All-Conference honors with seven members placed on each team in the order they completed the race.

2018 NEAC Women’s Cross Country All-Conference Selections


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, Morrisville State, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, and Wells College. Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and with the Colonial State Athletic Conference in the sport of Field Hockey. For more information, please visit: