Penn State Berks Named NEAC Women's Volleyball Regular Season Champions, Tournament Field Selected

Penn State Berks Named NEAC Women's Volleyball Regular Season Champions, Tournament Field Selected

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – After posting a 6-0 record in divisional play, Penn State Berks claimed the top seed in the South Division and earned its second North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Women’s Volleyball Regular Season Title.

Wells College also completed the regular season with a 6-0 divisional record to receive the top seed in the North Division. The NEAC Regular Season Champion is determined by comparing the top seeds from each division using specific criteria. Since Wells College and Penn State Berks each had a 8-1 record against conference opponents, the regular season crown was determined by head-to-head results, with Penn State Berks defeating Wells College earlier in the year.

This is the first year of a new postseason format in the NEAC utilizing divisional play for a number of sports, including women’s volleyball. Eight teams will advance to the postseason tournament with the top four teams from each division advancing. First round matchups will take place within each respective division with the No. 1 seed hosting the No. 4 seed and the No. 2 seed hosting the No. 3 seed.

Morrisville State College went 5-1 against NEAC North opponents to earn the No. 2 North seed. The Mustangs will host No. 3 North seed Keuka College as the Wolves own a 4-2 divisional record. With a 3-3 mark in the North, SUNY Poly earns the No. 4 North seed and will travel to Wells College.

Gallaudet University received the No. 2 South seed with a 5-1 divisional record. The Bison will host No. 3 South seed Lancaster Bible after the Chargers went 4-2 in the division. The College of Saint Elizabeth claimed the No. 4 South seed with a 2-4 record due to divisional tiebreaking criteria.

All First Round games will be played on Tuesday, Oct. 31 with the following game times:

North Division                                                                          

SUNY Poly @ Wells College – 7 p.m.

Keuka College @ Morrisville State College – 5 p.m.

South Division

College of Saint Elizabeth @ Penn State Berks – 7 p.m.

Lancaster Bible @ Gallaudet University – 5 p.m.

Following the conclusion of the First Round games, the four remaining teams will be reseeded. The top seed will be designated as the host for the NEAC Women’s Volleyball Final Four, which is scheduled for Nov. 4-5. The winner of the NEAC Championship will receive an automatic berth into the 2017 NCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball Tournament.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s tennis. For more information, please visit: