Cazenovia College Claims Fourth Straight NEAC Women's Swimming & Diving Championship

Cazenovia College Claims Fourth Straight NEAC Women's Swimming & Diving Championship

COBLESKILL, N.Y. – The Cazenovia College Wildcats claimed their fourth-straight North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Women’s Swimming & Diving Championship and fifth title overall at the three-day event hosted at SUNY Cobleskill’s Bouck Hall Natatorium.

The Wildcats cruised to the title with 706 total points. Cazenovia won 14 championship events, including five on Sunday to bring home the trophy. Sophomore Katherine Meehan (Watkins Glen, N.Y.) set a new record in the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:37.57 while senior Nichole Secor (Fairport, N.Y.) was named NEAC Women’s Swimmer of the Year. Secor won three individual events, was part of four first-place relay teams and set three new NEAC records to close out her final season as the league’s top swimmer.

Cedar Crest College finished the championship meet with 467 points as the NEAC Runner-Up for the second-straight season. Wells College placed third with 368 points, followed by Gallaudet University with 310 points in fourth and SUNY Cobleskill in fifth with 156 points.

Cazenovia College head coach Bill Houser and Cedar Crest College first year head coach Charlie MacDonald shared NEAC Women’s Swimming & Diving Coach of the Year honors. Cazenovia College’s Amy Bubb (Cicero, N.Y.) received NEAC Rookie of the Year honors after a first-place finish in the 200-yard backstroke and swimming a leg for the 200 and 400-yard medley relay teams.

The 2017-18 NEAC Women's Swimming & Diving All-Conference Teams were also announced, which were awarded to any of the competitors that finish in the top three for each of the 20 events taking place throughout the championships. First Team honors were awarded to the first-place finishers for each event, while the Second and Third Team selections include the second- and third-place finishers, respectively. The complete list of All-Conference honorees can be found here

Day 3 Results


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s tennis. For more information, please visit: