NEAC Announces 2016-17 Women's Basketball All-Conference Selections and Individual Award Winners

NEAC Announces 2016-17 Women's Basketball All-Conference Selections and Individual Award Winners

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has announced its 2016-17 Women’s Basketball All-Conference selections, honoring the top 18 players in the league regardless of position. The First, Second, and Third Team are each comprised of six players as selected by the conference coaches. Each individual award winner is also determined by coaches’ votes.

Headlining the individual awards is SUNY Polytechnic senior Stevie Ray (Syracuse, N.Y.), who has been named the NEAC Player of the Year. The senior guard served as the offensive catalyst for the NEAC’s top women’s team that finished the season with a 23-2 overall record. Ray ranks second in Division III and the NEAC with 25.1 points per game while her 603 points are a league-best. She has also established herself as the nation’s best shooter from beyond the arc, averaging 4.75 three-point field goals per game. Ray, who also earned a spot on the NEAC All Conference First Team, closed out the regular season shooting 41.4 percent from the field and 82.6 percent from the free-throw line. This season, Ray set the SUNY Polytechnic single-game record with 11 three-pointers in a game, has had two games where she exceeded 40 points, and has been named NEAC Women’s Basketball Student-Athlete of the Week on three occasions.

An All-NEAC Second Team selection, Caitlin Hickey (Lancaster, Pa.) from Lancaster Bible College was also honored as the NEAC Rookie of the Year. Hickey, who was the only freshman selected to the NEAC All-Conference team, scored 20 or more points in 10 games for the Chargers. From three-point territory, she ranks second in the NEAC with a 39.6 shooting percentage and her 18.1 points per game ranks seventh in the league. Hickey has appeared in all 26 games and amassed the sixth-best point total in the NEAC with 471 points. She served as a pivotal player in the Chargers First-Round victory by scoring five of the team’s nine points in the second overtime, including the game-winning three-point shot with eight seconds remaining to send Lancaster Bible to the NEAC Semifinals.

Bryn Athyn College head coach Kayla Felty rounds out the individual winners as the NEAC Coach of the Year. In her fourth season with the Lions, Felty led her squad to its first 20-win season in program history and second consecutive playoff berth as Bryn Athyn entered the NEAC Tournament as the No. 2 South Seed. Felty and the Lions picked up a notable win on Feb.14 as Bryn Athyn pulled off an 81-71 upset at Lancaster Bible, handing the Chargers their first home conference loss in 46 games. The Lions led the NEAC with an average of 70.8 points per game and ranked second with 52.4 rebounds per game. With Felty at the helm, Bryn Athyn has nearly tripled its win-total from the 2014-15 season.

The complete list of the 2016-17 NEAC Women’s Basketball All-Conference Team is as follows:

First Team
# Name Institution Year Position Hometown
3 Stevie Ray SUNY Polytechnic Sr. Guard Syracuse, N.Y.
44 Courtney Goyak Lancaster Bible So. Forward Beecher, Wis.
13 Ashida Cooper Wells College Sr. Guard Bensalem, Pa.
3 Kristina Clark Bryn Athyn College Sr. Guard Perth Amboy, N.J.
12 Khristaijah Jackson SUNY Polytechnic Jr. Forward Levittown, Pa.
23 Jordan Anderson Morrisville State  Sr. Guard West Edmeston, N.Y.
Second Team
# Name Institution Year Position Hometown
23 Jasmine Poole College of St. Elizabeth Sr. Guard Pemberton, N.J.
10 Shayna Rodriguez Penn State Abington So. Guard Philadelphia, Pa.
33 Krissy Pennell Lancaster Bible Sr. Guard Wrightsville, Pa.
14 Katie Stuart Keuka College Sr. Guard Tupper Lake, N.Y.
24 Caitlin Hickey Lancaster Bible Fr. Guard Lancaster, Pa.
20 Shelby Preston SUNY Cobleskill Sr. Forward Ravena, N.Y.
Third Team
# Name Institution Year Position Hometown
32 Alicia Ross Penn College Sr. Guard Williamsport, Pa.
3 Deanna Daddona Penn State Berks So. Guard Mertztown, Pa.
12 Skylar Girard Cazenovia College Jr. Guard Glens Falls, N.Y.
2 Samantha Hicks Bryn Athyn College So. Guard Philadelphia, Pa.
33 Deja Ingram College of St. Elizabeth So. Forward Trenton, N.J.
24 Haley Kilmartin Morrisville State Jr. Guard Fort Plain, N.Y.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University - Abington, Pennsylvania State University - Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M Lacrosse & M Volleyball), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse & M Volleyball), Penn State Altoona (M Volleyball) and Rutgers University - Camden (M Golf).  The North Eastern Athletic Conference has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s and women’s tennis.