Lancaster Bible Wins First NEAC Men's Cross Country Championship

Lancaster Bible Wins First NEAC Men's Cross Country Championship

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The Lancaster Bible men’s cross country team earned 44 points to knock off five-time defending champion SUNY Poly and win the 2018 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Championship. The Chargers claimed the program’s first conference crown in front of a home crowd with the event hosted on the campus of Lancaster Bible on Saturday.

Individual Results / Team Results

Three Lancaster Bible runners finished in the top six with freshman Abenezer Abebe (Addis Ababa, Ethiopia) winning the individual crown. As the top finisher with a time of 25:55.5, Abebe was named NEAC Runner and Rookie of the Year after his outstanding race. Thatcher Krob (Lisbon, Iowa) took second place with a time of 26:01.1 while Tanner Krob (Lisbon, Iowa) also earned a spot on the All-Conference First Team with a sixth-place finish in 26:57.0. Chargers’ Head Coach Ryan Gehman was also named NEAC Coach of the Year after leading his team to its first league title and seeing his top five runners earn All-Conference honors.

SUNY Poly finished second with 50 points as the Wildcats placed six runners on the All-Conference Second Team. Sophomore Noah Valvo (Town of Wright, N.Y.) was the Wildcats’ top finisher with a time of 27:25.4 to claim eighth place. Ian Kurzrock (Woodburne, N.Y.) and Christopher Bouchard (Latham, N.Y.) rounded out the top ten with times of 27:29.3 and 27:32.1, respectively.

Penn College placed third with 72 points, while SUNY Cobleskill finished fourth with 116 points. Penn State Berks rounded out the top five with 121 points

NEAC All-Conference First, Second and Third Team selections were determined by the individual finish times at the championship race.  The top 21 runners receive All-Conference honors with seven members placed on each team in the order they completed the race.

2018 NEAC Men’s Cross Country All-Conference Selections


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, Morrisville State, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, and Wells College. Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and with the Colonial State Athletic Conference in the sport of Field Hockey. For more information, please visit: