Lancaster Bible Edges Penn State Abington to Win First NEAC/NAC West Division Men's Tennis Title

Lancaster Bible Edges Penn State Abington to Win First NEAC/NAC West Division Men's Tennis Title

CLARKS SUMMIT, Pa. – In an exciting start to tournament play, Lancaster Bible defeated Penn State Abington, 5-4, to win its first North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC)/North Atlantic Conference (NAC) West Division Men’s Tennis Championship on Thursday morning at the Birchwood Tennis Club.

Championship Match

No. 2 Penn State Abington 4, No. 1 Lancaster Bible 5 (Results)

Lancaster Bible jumped out to a 2-0 lead after earning wins at No. 1 doubles and No. 3 doubles by scores of 8-5 and 8-2, respectively. The Penn State Abington duo of Ilker Erkut (Philadelphia, Pa.) and Jose Palomeque (Upper Dublin, Pa.) picked up the final point in doubles competition with an 8-5 victory at No. 2 doubles to cut the Chargers lead to 2-1 heading into singles play.

The Nittany Lions tied it up when Adam Moskal (Philadelphia, Pa.) defeated Derice Butler (Port Jefferson Station, N.Y.) at No. 6 singles before Penn State Abington’s Erkut and Michael Litz (Huntingdon Valley, Pa.) added wins in the top two singles flights. Lancaster Bible’s Yancy Butler (Port Jefferson Station, N.Y.) won No. 3 singles, 6-2, 6-3, to leave the Chargers trailing by one point with two matches still on the court.

Chargers’ junior Keven Vallette (Douglassville, Pa.) took the No. 5 singles match while senior Ming Bowser (Moses Lake, Wash.) secured Lancaster Bible’s first divisional title with a 6-3, 6-2 win at No. 4 singles.

Lancaster Bible will advance to the NEAC/NAC Crossover Championship against the NEAC/NAC East Division Champion on Sunday, May 5 at Tri-City Tennis Club in Latham, N.Y. The NEAC/NAC East Division Champion will be determined on Saturday.

The doubles portion of the men’s individual tournament began shortly after the conclusion of the team championship match. Singles matches will begin on Friday at 9 a.m. with the NEAC Men’s Tennis All-Conference Team and individual awards announced at the conclusion of Friday’s action.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, Morrisville State, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, and Wells College. Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and with the Colonial State Athletic Conference in the sport of Field Hockey. For more information, please visit:

*Beginning with the 2010 season, the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) in the sport of men’s tennis. The NAC will compete as associate members of the NEAC in men’s tennis and members from each conference will be divided into an East and West Division. Each division will hold a championship and the two divisional champions will meet to determine the conference champion.