NEAC Selects 2016-17 Men's Basketball All-Conference Team and Annual Award Winners

NEAC Selects 2016-17 Men's Basketball All-Conference Team and Annual Award Winners

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has announced its 2016-17 Men’s Basketball All-Conference selections, honoring the top 18 players in the league regardless of position. The First, Second, and Third Team are each comprised of six players as selected by the conference coaches. Each individual award winner is also determined by coaches’ votes.

In just his second season at Wells College, Rich Ross (Bronx, N.Y.) was honored as the NEAC Player of the Year. The sophomore guard appeared in all 26 games for the Express, logging 854 minutes which ranks third in the league. No player in the NEAC sunk more shots from beyond the arc than Ross, who finished the season with 81 three-point field goals. He compiled 564 points, which ranked second in the conference, while his 140 defensive rebounds are good for fifth-best in the NEAC. A First Team All-Conference selection, Ross was named NEAC Men’s Basketball Student-Athlete of the Week three times this season and selected to the National Team of the Week on Jan. 9. He finished the season on a high-note, scoring his 1,000th career point in the final weekend of the regular season to become Wells’ all-time leader scorer.  

Morrisville State’s Kevin Dennis (Bronx, N.Y.) was named NEAC Rookie of the Year after making a quick impression on the league. After starting 23 of 26 games, Dennis ranks fourth in the NEAC with 510 points and is the league-leader with 286 rebounds. Dennis posted 31 points in games against Utica College and Wells College while pulling down a single-game high of 19 rebounds against SUNY Polytechnic. He ranks among the top five in the NEAC in many statistical categories, including second in field goals (194), second in field-goal percentage (61.4), fourth in free throws (122), and second in defensive rebounds (153). At the national level, Ross ranks third in Division III with 133 offensive rebounds. Even more impressive, Dennis ranks ninth in the country with 17 double-doubles, including one last night in the NEAC First Round victory over Wells. Dennis, who represents the Mustangs on the NEAC All-Conference First Team, has also been honored as NEAC Men’s Basketball Student-Athlete of the Week once and ECAC Division III North Rookie of the Week twice. 

The NEAC Coach of the Year hails from Gallaudet University as Kevin Kovacs has led the Bison through a record-breaking season. In Kovacs’ second season, the Bison claimed the top seed in the 2017 NEAC Men’s Basketball Tournament and will serve as the host for this weekend’s Final Four. Gallaudet has enjoyed its most successful season in program history, setting program records with 20 wins and 18 NEAC victories. The Bison are ranked third in Division III in field-goal percentage (36.6), fourth in three-point field-goal defense (28.5), nine in team blocks (134), and tenth in blocked shots per game (5.3) and total rebounds (1,105). Kovacs’ Bison received a NEAC-best four All-Conference selections.

The complete list of the 2016-17 NEAC Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team is as follows:

First Team

# Name Institution Year Position Hometown
0 Rich Ross Wells College So. Guard Bronx, N.Y.
2 Joshua McGriff Gallaudet University Sr.  Center Somerset, N.J.
22 Quayshaun Mitchell SUNY Polytechnic Sr. Forward Harlem, N.Y.
30 Kevin Dennis Morrisville State Fr. Forward Bronx, N.Y.
23 Raymond Nelson Gallaudet University Sr. Guard Riverside, Calif.
15 Herbie Brown Lancaster Bible Jr. Guard Wilmington, Del.


Second Team

# Name Institution Year Position Hometown
11 Baba Waples Penn State Berks Sr. Guard Reading, Pa.
34 Kevin Williams SUNY Polytechnic Jr. Forward Brooklyn, N.Y.
23 Trent Ward Morrisville State Jr. Guard Auburn, N.Y.
21 Andy Cruz Gallaudet University Jr. Forward Bronx, N.Y.
5 Keion Adams Wilson College Jr. Guard Gaithersburg, Md.
1 Will Thompson Cazenovia College Jr. Forward Bushkill, Pa.


Third Team

# Name Institution Year Position Hometown
3 Jason Saldiveri College of St. Elizabeth Fr. Guard New Brunswick, N.J.
24 John Ryan Penn State Abington Fr. Forward Warminster, Pa.
10 Noah Valencia Gallaudet University Fr. Guard Riverside, Calif.
21 Brett Cataudella Lancaster Bible Fr. Forward New Holland, Pa.
42 Terrynce Wilson SUNY Polytechnic Sr. Forward Bronx, N.Y.
13 Deion Boyer Bryn Athyn College Sr. Guard Philadelphia, Pa.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University - Abington, Pennsylvania State University - Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M Lacrosse & M Volleyball), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse & M Volleyball), Penn State Altoona (M Volleyball) and Rutgers University - Camden (M Golf).  The North Eastern Athletic Conference has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s and women’s tennis.