2012-13 NEAC Presidents’ Cup Results: Penn State Berks Captures First-Ever Crown

Penn State Berks captured its first NEAC Presidents' Cup award with a .748 winning percentage on the year.
Penn State Berks captured its first NEAC Presidents' Cup award with a .748 winning percentage on the year.

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) announced the winners of the 2012-13 Presidents’ Cup during the conference’s annual retreat Wednesday, with Penn State Berks winning the overall cup for the first time in program history while also capturing the Women’s Cup.  Morrisville State College took home the Men’s Cup for the second straight year.

Each Presidents’ Cup is awarded based on each institution’s overall winning percentage from the past academic year, which is calculated through a points system that takes into account each school’s finish in the final regular season standings for each team sport and the championship finish for each individual sport sponsored within the NEAC.

The Penn State Berks Nittany Lions posted an overall winning percentage of .748 by earning 80 out of a possible 107 points on the year, being aided by regular season championships in men’s basketball, women’s soccer, softball, and women’s tennis.  Those titles on the women’s side, in addition to women’s cross country finishing in second place at the NEAC Championships and women’s volleyball finishing in a tie for second place in the regular season standings, gave the Nittany Lions a .905 winning percentage to beat out reigning four-time Women’s Cup winner Keuka College (.754).

Morrisville State College finished atop the men’s standings for the second straight year after the Mustangs compiled a .847 winning percentage by accumulating 30.5 out of a possible 36 points.  The Mustangs took home regular season titles in men’s basketball and second-place finishes in both soccer and cross country. 

Penn State Abington finished in second place overall with a .641 winning percentage after finishing tied for second in the men’s standings and being third in the women’s standings, while Keuka came in third place with a .630 winning percentage.  SUNYIT, the Presidents’ Cup winner the last two years, finished fourth overall with a .624 winning percentage, followed by Morrisville State (.590) and Penn State Harrisburg (.589) to round out the top six schools.

The complete results for all three NEAC President’s Cups are as follows:

Women's Cup Standings (Winning %)  Men's Cup Standings (Winning %)  Overall Cup Standings (Winning %)

1. Penn State Berks          .905              1. Morrisville State Col.   .847                 1. Penn State Berks       .748

2. Keuka College               .754              2. Penn State Abington   .684                 2. Penn State Abington   .641

3. Penn State Abington      .610              2. Penn State Harrisburg .684                 3. Keuka College             .630

4. Lancaster Bible Col.       .605              4. SUNYIT                      .670                4. SUNYIT                     .624

5. SUNYIT                        .585              5. Penn State Berks       .561                  5. Morrisville State Col.   .590

6. Wells College                .569              6. Wells College             .543                 6. Penn State Harrisburg .589

7. SUNY Cobleskill            .519              7. Keuka College             .500                 7. Wells College            .559

8. Penn State Harrisburg   .509              8. SUNY Cobleskill          .489                  8. SUNY Cobleskill          .505

9. Gallaudet University       .464              9. Gallaudet University    .433                 9. Lancaster Bible Col.    .496

10. Cazenovia College      .451              10. Lancaster Bible Col.  .354                 10. Gallaudet University  .450

11. Morrisville State Col.   .432              11. Cazenovia College    .338                 11. Col. of St. Elizabeth* .397

12. Col. of St. Elizabeth    .397  .                                                                       12. Cazenovia College    .396

13. Wilson College           .236                                                                          13. Wilson College*        .236


*College of Saint Elizabeth and Wilson College do not sponsor men’s programs, thus only each school’s women’s standings were included in the overall rankings.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference has thirteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania State University - Abington, Pennsylvania State University - Berks, Pennsylvania State University -Harrisburg, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Institute of Technology, SUNY Morrisville State College, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Hilbert College (M Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse) and Rutgers University - Camden (M Golf & M Tennis).