Women’s Soccer Semifinals Recap: Lancaster Bible College, Penn State Abington to Battle for 2011 NEAC Championship

LANCASTER, Pa. – The Lancaster Bible College Chargers and the Penn State Abington Nittany Lions both advanced to the championship round of the 2011 NEAC women’s soccer tournament and a champion will be determined when they square off tomorrow at 1 p.m. at Lancaster.

The Chargers, the top seed and host of the tournament, defeated No. 5 seed Penn State Berks 4-0 in the semifinals today.  Junior Whitney Heise (Danville, Pa.) recorded a hat trick with three goals on the day while also assisting on the goal scored by NEAC Player of the Year Ally Brown (East Petersburg, Pa.)  Charger goalkeeper Emily Lloyd (Northumberland, Pa.) made five saves for her fifth straight shutout and 12th of the season.

Second seeded Abington advanced to the championship after a 1-0 victory over No. 3 seed Penn State Harrisburg in the semis today.  The only goal of the contest came when freshman Brianna Heck (Willow Grove, Pa.) scored an unassisted goal 20 minutes into the second period.  Freshman goalie Gabrielle Benedict (Jamison, Pa.) recorded one save for her eighth shutout of the season.

The winner of tomorrow’s championship will receive an automatic qualifying bid to the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference has thirteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania State University - Abington, Pennsylvania State University - Berks, Pennsylvania State University -Harrisburg, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Institute of Technology, SUNY Morrisville State College,  Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Hilbert College (M Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse) and Rutgers University - Camden (M Golf).  The North Eastern Athletic Conference has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of baseball, women’s lacrosse, and men’s and women’s tennis.