Syracuse Post-Standard Publishes Opinion Piece on Division III Athletics Written by Wells College President Lisa Marsh Ryerson

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – In recognition of the NCAA's inaugural National Division III Week, Wells College President Lisa Marsh Ryerson has penned an opinion piece on the value of Division III athletics and the role it’s played at Wells College.

Ryerson’s piece has recently been published in both the print and online editions of The Post-Standard newspaper, based out of Syracuse, N.Y.  The online version can be viewed by clicking here.

Running April 9 to 15, Division III Week celebrates the unique Division III student-athlete experience, which offers a highly competitive athletics environment, a commitment to academic excellence and time to pursue other interests.  Division III schools strive to provide student-athletes the opportunity to discover their potential and develop their passions through full participation in campus life, and ultimately to dedicate themselves to success as citizens and leaders in society.

Ryerson has served as president of Wells College, in Aurora, N.Y., since 1995. She is currently the chair of the President's Council of the North Eastern Athletic Conference, one of the 43 conferences that make up the National Collegiate Athletic Association's Division III.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference has thirteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania State University - Abington, Pennsylvania State University - Berks, Pennsylvania State University -Harrisburg, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Institute of Technology, SUNY Morrisville State College, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Hilbert College (M Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse) and Rutgers University - Camden (M Golf).  The North Eastern Athletic Conference has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of baseball, women’s lacrosse, and men’s and women’s tennis.