January 25, 2012

SUNY Cobleskill's McCarthy Among Six Candidates Inducted into NJCAA Basketball Hall of Fame for 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The 2012 Basketball Hall of Fame class has been released by the NJCAA Men’s Basketball Coaches Association.  The 2012 class includes one of the best national tournament players in NJCAA history, Jim Boyce of Burlington Junior College (now known as Southeastern Community College, Iowa), as well as former Vincennes University (Ind.) players Carl Landry and Clarence Walker.

Three deserving coaches making up this year’s class includes Gene Bahnsen of Wharton County Junior College (Texas), Buster Gilliss of Bismarck State College (N.D.) and Kevin McCarthy of SUNY Cobleskill (N.Y.).

Since its inception in 1984, a total of 130 coaches, players and special contributors have been inducted into the NJCAA Men’s Basketball Coaches Assn. Hall of Fame.

Bahnsen, Boyce, Landry and Walker will be honored at the 2012 NJCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship banquet on March 19 in Hutchinson, Kan. Gilliss will be honored at the 2012 NJCAA Division II Men’s Basketball Championship banquet on March 19 in Danville, Ill. McCarthy will be honored at the NJCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Championship banquet on March 14 in Loch Sheldrake, N.Y.

Kevin McCarthy
Head Coach

SUNY Cobleskill
Cobleskill, N.Y.

In 17 seasons as the head coach of SUNY Cobleskill, Kevin McCarthy led the NJCAA Division III program to 339 wins and posted a 74.4 winning percentage. He led the Tigers to 13 consecutive 20-plus win seasons with several milestones in-between.

Under McCarthy the Tigers won three Region 3 Championships and advanced to the NJCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Tournament three times (1998, 2005, 2008) – twice qualifying to the semifinals (1998 and 2008).

He won NJCAA District Coach of the Year honors three times and Mountain Valley Conference Coach of the Year four times. He was also named New York State BCANY Coach of the Year in 1998 and in 2010 was named to the New York State Basketball Hall of Fame.

McCarthy has received several honors during his career recognizing his uncompromised integrity. He received the Guardian of the Game Award for Educational Excellence in 2004 from the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) and the National Award for Ethics, Integrity, Service and Success in 2009 from the NJCAA Men’s Basketball Coaches Association.

A former NJCAA basketball player at Clinton Community College (N.Y.) in the early 1970s after completing an exceptional prep career at Fort Edward High School in his hometown of Fort Edward, N.Y., McCarthy would move on to Plattsburgh State University in Plattsburgh, N.Y., where he would continue his basketball career and earn his undergraduate degree.

McCarthy has represented the interests of the two-year college basketball community from 1996-2008 as a member of the NABC Junior College Advisory Board and was a member of the NJCAA Men’s Basketball Coaches Association board of directors for 12 years. He also served as the head coach of the NJCAA All-Star team in 2006.

In addition to coaching, McCarthy has served as SUNY Cobleskill’s athletic director since 1996 – a position he still holds today – and was the 2004 National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics Junior College Athletic Director of the Year.

*Release courtesy of Mark Krug, NJCAA Director of Media Relations & Assistant Executive Director